About Crawley Museum
Entry to both museums is free but we welcome donations
About Ifield Watermill
Ifield Watermill is thought to be the only working Watermill in West Sussex still powered by its original water source (the Ifield millpond). There were mills in the area from as early as 1274. Ifield Watermill was in operation from 1660. Rebuilt following a fire in 1683, it continued to operate until the 1920s when it was left to deteriorate. Ted Henbury was alerted to its presence by his son, and together with the local rescue archaeologist John Gibson-Hill set up a restoration group to work on the watermill. Work started on the restoration in 1974, and the watermill now boasts a working waterwheel as well as a renovated building. Restoration work at the mill is ongoing. Ifield Watermill contains a variety of working mechanical instruments which show the use of the Mill. It also houses exhibitions about the history and restoration of the Mill and the history of the local area.